For the period: Nov. 25 - Dec. 1, 2014      
What's On

Now Playing

-or-

Theaters

Sign up for our FREE weekly newsletter
Email:
For Email Marketing you can trust

Official PayPal Seal

REVIEW: Missionary Accomplished: The Audacity of Hump

Go Comedy! Improv Theater

A comedy not hard to swallow at Go Comedy!

By Donald V. Calamia

I love a challenge - and the 10 p.m. show at Ferndale's Go Comedy! Improv Theater certainly is a challenging show for critics to review. It's not that the show isn't funny - trust me, it is, and sometimes hilariously so - but certain words, phrases and topics used throughout Missionary Accomplished: The Audacity of Hump are generally among those that polite society doesn't like to see appear in print - and therein lies the challenge. And if one woman's very loud "Oh my God" when she realized what a particular skit was REALLY about during a recent Thursday night performance is any indication - which almost brought the house down, by the way - Go Comedy's first-ever original scripted show may not be for the naive, the sexually unadventurous or those who are easily shocked or offended.

But what else would you expect from a sketch comedy that celebrates sex in all of its various forms and permutations?

The fast-paced show opens with a look back at the final days of the Bush administration, as a new and far-more stringent sex education curriculum is discussed at a school staff meeting chaired by the obviously not-very-happy principal (Tiffany Jones).

A couple of brief skits follow, after which the show kicks into high gear. Ryan Parmenter and Pete Jacokes play young tweens at a boy-girl party who find themselves stuck in a closet together for "seven minutes in heaven," thanks to a game of spin-the-bottle that goes awry. The inexperienced Ryan bemoans the fact that he doesn't know how to kiss a girl - and Pete offers to educate him. Not once. Not twice. And while I won't reveal more, the actors' commitment to the scene is both brave and well-executed - and it's one of the best segments of the night. (It certainly seemed to shock a few ladies in the audience!)

Another highlight follows shortly after. Two senators (Chris DiAngelo and Lesley Braden Phillips) grill Rear Admiral Barnes (Parmenter) about the many uses for seaman in the U.S. Navy. As you can well imagine, the double entendres begin flying immediately and never stop – nor do the laughs, thanks to the actors’ expert discharge of their duties and Parmenter's ability to maintain a serious, military demeanor throughout the silliness.

Other laugh-filled moments include Jacokes coaching DiAngelo's "first time at bat," and a lesbian couple (Jones and Jen Hansen) at a "Stop the Hate, Vote No for Prop 8" rally who discover the grass may NOT be greener on the other side after all!

And in the show's only moment of improv, Jacokes was thrown an unexpected curve when a patron tossed him the movie Schindler's List around which he was to build sexually related jokes. Watching him squirm was loads of fun - as was watching him mentally edit his mostly never vocalized responses.

Preceding Missionary Accomplished every Thursday are Soapbox Derby at 8 p.m. and the 9 O'Clock Comedy Hour.


SHOW DETAILS:

Go Comedy! Improv Theater, 261 E. Nine Mile Rd., Ferndale. 10 p.m. every Thursday. Tickets: $10. For information: 248-327-0757 or www.gocomedy.net.

Click here to comment on this review

Performance Information

Show times

Thursday, August 15, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, August 22, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, August 29, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, September 5, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, September 12, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, September 19, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, September 26, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 10, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 17, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 24, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 31, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, November 7, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, November 21, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 5, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 12, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 19, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, January 16, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, January 23, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, January 30, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, February 6, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, February 13, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, February 20, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, February 27, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, March 27, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, April 3, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, April 10, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, April 17, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, April 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, May 1, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, May 8, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, May 15, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, July 10, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, July 17, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, July 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, July 31, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, August 14, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, August 21, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 2, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 9, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 16, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 23, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, October 30, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, November 20, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 4, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 11, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 18, 2014 at 8:00 pm


© 2007-2014 Encore Michigan LLC. All Rights Reserved.