Encore Michigan

DIO casting actor of color

January 03, 2023

The Dio is seeking an immediate replacement for our upcoming production of The Violet Hour by Richard Greenberg. Rehearsals begin January 9.

SEEKING A NON-EQUITY ACTOR FOR THE FOLLOWING ROLE: Jessie Brewster – successful black jazz singer, female, late 30s to early 50s. NOTE: The Violet Hour is a play and this character does not sing in the show. PAID ROLE, plus a meal following each performance and two comp tickets. Actors with previous serving experience may choose to serve tables for additional tips.

Rehearsals take place Mondays through Fridays, 6pm to 10pm, and Saturdays noon to 6pm. Tech will take place from noon to midnight on Saturday, January 28. This character will not be required at all rehearsals.

Rehearsals and performances take place at The Dio, 177 E. Main Street, Pinckney Michigan, 48169.

Performance schedule:

*7pm call time for evening performances, 1pm for matinees.

Friday, February 3 – evening

Saturday, February 4 – evening

Sunday, February 5 – matinee

Friday, February 10 – evening

Saturday, February 11 – evening

Sunday, February 12 – matinee

Friday, February 17 – evening

Saturday, February 18 – evening

Sunday, February 19 – matinee

Thursday, February 23 – evening

Friday, February 24 – evening

Saturday, February 25 – evening

Sunday, February 26 – matinee

*POTENTIAL EXTENSION DATES*

Thursday, March 2 – evening

Friday, March 3 – evening

Saturday, March 4 – evening

Sunday, March 5 – matinee

Interested performers should email headshot, resume and a list of any and all rehearsal/performance conflicts, as well as any available video to steve@diotheatre.com ASAP. All actors must be fully vaccinated including the most recent Covid-19 booster. Please include a photo of your vaccination card with your headshot and resume. You may be asked to video a short reading from the script.

SHOW SYNOPSIS:

It’s April 1st, 1919, and the young independent publisher John Pace Seavering is setting up his office: a couple of dilapidated rooms in a romantic Manhattan tower. With only enough capital to put out one book, John finds himself besieged by two authors. Denny McCleary, John’s brash and gifted college friend, has produced a manuscript so unruly it lives in a trio of crates. Denny has a surprise imperative: He’s fallen in love with the enchanting heiress Rosamund Plinth, and if John doesn’t agree to publish his book today, he’ll lose her forever. But John is also being strenuously lobbied by Jessie Brewster, the popular black jazz singer who is also John’s very secret mistress. She’s written her memoirs and is determined to have her story known. As John temporizes with these two, another drama is playing out in the anteroom: A machine of mysterious provenance and purpose has arrived and is spewing out stacks of pages while John’s hapless assistant, Gidger, strives vainly to stem the flood. What’s written on these pages will throw John’s every hope and plan into disarray.

community

Week of 2/6/2023

Current Shows

  • All
  • mon
  • tue
  • wed
  • thu
  • fri
  • sat
  • sun